Posting this because a friend said I should!
Most of us hate folding laundry. It seems so tedious and time consuming. A couple of years ago, I read something that suggested setting a timer for 5 minutes and going around your house and cleaning up the clutter and throwing it into a laundry basket. It got me thinking about time.
How long does it take to wash the dishes? How long does it take to clean the bathroom? How long does it take for me to vacuum? How long does it take to fold a basket full of laundry?
How long does it take for me to fold a basket of laundry? 8 minutes or LESS! I timed myself one time and it took only 8 minutes. I was fascinated. So now I constantly try to beat my 8 minutes. I can do it in 6. I can fold towels in just 4 minutes if I'm really focused, but a mixed basked of laundry I try to finish in less than 8!
Now, it's folded. Who wants to put it all away? I have 4 children, and I sort of despise this part. Everytime I open one of their dressers I want to clean it and organize it. So, I started getting my boys to race each other. I stack their clothes in piles by drawer. All the socks and underwear in one pile. The pj's in one pile, The shirts in one, and finally pants and shorts in another. I used to hand them the pile, but now they can get it on their own and they race to see who puts all of their clothes away first.
I sort my own clothes the same way because it makes the put away much less annoying!
I've heard if you can make it a game, it won't seem as terrible. I kind of think it's true! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment